Dravid – The Wall The Rhinoceros

7 Aug

I got carried away with India winning last Test series against Srilanka, so I kind of got lazy with my Animal Cricketer comparison.

But as I am happy now, Today, I want to say my few words for another Indian Legend

Rahul The Wall Dravid.

The Wall

Its been pride to talk about him, since I have been tagged by many cricketers, and Rahul was one of them.

Yes, I bat like Rahul Dravid, …… yeha right I wish I can bat like him.

The reason I have been tagged as a batsman like Dravid, because I love grinning bowlers. I love taking hits, I love leaving bowl, I love respecting bowlers who are in huff and puff when you open. I love staying on pitch for long long time.

I also rarely slogs, I go for cover drive, flicks, late cut, pull, hook, drive, and I like killing bowl in the ground. I love gripping Bat. When I choose my bat, I look for grip. I don’t care much about rest of the bat, all I care about Grip and weight of the bat. Weight should be light.

Once, I read an interview of him, Dravid said he looks for grip of the bat. If the grip is perfect Dravid will marry that Bat make tons of babies by scoring many runs.

I compare him with Rhinoceros, not because Rhino’s beautiful face, because Rhino’s Armor.

Rhino’s Armor is the thickest among many Mammals.

“The collagenous dermis of the white rhinoceros forms a thick, protective armour that is highly specialized in its structure and material properties compared with other mammalian skin. Rhinoceros skin is three times thicker than predicted allometrically, and it contains a dense and highly ordered three-dimensional array of relatively straight and highly crosslinked collagen fibres.” – PubMed

This Armor is the best defense mechanism, it can take almost any kind of hit, heat, and other climate related hazard.

I always see Dravid bats like Cricket Nerd or he even looks like Cricket Nerd. If he meets somebody who doesn’t know him, will defiantly say Dravid is either some model or actor or some executive director or MBA graduate or Computer Scientist but not Cricketer.

His flicks from yorker length bowl are my favortite shots of his. I tried that several times and got Bowled or LBW several times.

So, yeh even some of my friend tell me, I bat like Dravid, I know they are just being Humble to me.

Ohh yes, Dravid is the one of the Humblest Cricketer.

If I have to describe Dravid in one word.

Humble is the word.

Respect for The Wall.

3 Responses to “Dravid – The Wall The Rhinoceros”

  1. Mayank Jhaveri August 8, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Hey,

    Being a big Dravid fan myself,I have read loads of articles and posts on Dravid and his legendary acheivements.But never has someone compared him to a animal and brought out the good side about him.
    Well written.Good idea.

    Cheers,
    Mayank Jhaveri
    http://freehit-cricketanalysis.blogspot.com/

    • Cricket With Poop August 9, 2010 at 3:48 am #

      Thanks Mayank

      also thank you for blog rolling me.
      I am still new to this, I will start blog rolling thingy soon, if I figure out how to do it exactly. lol

      Dravid is one of the nerdiest cricketer, a phenomenal human being.

      An Idea came to me last year actually, and being Vegetarian and Animal lover, I had to do it. Then, also there was a wonderful article on Cricinfo recently by Rahul B., then I had to do it at least for my fav. players.

      Now I am planning to be famous by commenting on your site too. woohoo lol

      • Mayank Jhaveri August 11, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

        Haha,I am sure you will figure out more about blogs,just like I have over time.
        Cheers..;)

Leave a Reply

